2021 The Buzzies: Award Winners

Best History Long Format

9/11: One Day in America
Production Companies: 72 Films, 9/11 Memorial Museum
Broadcaster: National Geographic

Best History Short Format

Sponsored by The WNET Group

Breakthrough: Egypt's Lost City
Production Company: Curiosity Studios
Platform: Curiosity Stream

Best Natural History Long Format

The Year Earth Changed
Production Company: BBC Studios Natural History Unit
Platform: Apple TV+

Best Natural History Short Format

Aliens in the Pond
Production Company: Hooded Crow Pictures
Platform: Curiosity Stream

Best Science Long Format (Tie)

Picture a Scientist, PBS/NOVA
Production Companies: A NOVA Production by Uprising LLC
Broadcaster: PBS

The Surgeon's Cut
Production Company: BBC Studios
Platform: Netflix

Best Science Short Format

PBS Overview
Production Company: PBS North Carolina
Broadcaster: PBS Digital Studios

Best Multi-Platform Factual Project

8K Cultural Properties
Production Company: NHK, Tokyo National Museum
Broadcaster: NHK

Most Innovative Factual Program/Project

Viral Dreams
Production Company: gebrueder beetz filmproduktion, Udi&Sagi Production
Broadcasters: ARTE, ZDF, SVT, DR, HOT8

Green Impact of the Year

Sponsored by BBC Studios

GREEN WARRIORS: Coal in the Lungs
Production Company: Premières lignes, with the participation of France Télévisions
Broadcaster: France 5, France Télévisions

Best Host/Presenter in a Science/History or Wildlife Program/Content (Tie)

Chris Packham
Chris Packham's Animal Einsteins
Production Company: BBC Studios Natural History Unit
Broadcaster: BBC2

Simon Plowright
Tasmania: Curious Life of Quolls
Production Company: Wild Creature Films/ Smith&Nasht
Broadcaster: Smithsonian Channel

Emerging Producer of the Year

Annabel Robinson
Associate Producer, SeaLight Pictures

Diversity Leadership Award

Alick Tipoti
Zenadh Kes Islander (Torres Strait)

Mentor of the Year

Sponsored by Calgary Economic Development Film Commission

Fatima Salaria
Managing Director, NAKED TELEVISION

Lifetime Achievement Award in Factual Content

Sponsored by PBS, PBS International and NOVA

Steve Burns
Executive Producer, Roller Coaster Road Productions